Virat Kohli’s Quest: Surpassing Six-Hitting Legends in IPL 2024

's Quest: In the impending clash between RCB and KKR in , the prospect of former RCB skipper and luminary batsman Virat Kohli ascending as the preeminent six-hitting maestro for his squad looms large.

Virat Kohli  and Shreyas Iyer
Virat Kohli and (Image source: Twitter)

Kohli stands on the precipice of eclipsing Chris Gayle's longstanding record. With a mere trifecta of towering sixes against KKR, Kohli will etch his name in the annals of cricketing history, usurping Gayle. Moreover, he shall etch his mark as the foremost purveyor of sixes for a singular T20 cricket outfit.

Kohli's Imminent Overtaking of Gayle's Record Chris Gayle's reign as RCB's premier six-hitter stands as a testament to his prowess. Across 85 IPL encounters donning the RCB colors, Gayle unleashed a barrage of 239 towering sixes.

In contrast, Virat Kohli's journey in the RCB jersey spans 239 matches, punctuated by 237 blistering sixes. The anticipation mounts as Kohli stands on the cusp of eclipsing Gayle's feat, poised to ascend as the preeminent six-slinger for RCB and any single T20 franchise.

Read More: Hardik Pandya's Epic Comeback Journey Revealed: From Injury Setback to IPL

Beyond Gayle's shadow lies AB de Villiers, a formidable force in his own right. AB's tenure with RCB spans 156 appearances, during which he launched an impressive tally of 238 sixes.

However, Kohli's impending assault on this record looms large. With a mere pair of sixes, Kohli shall ascend beyond AB's tally. The stage is set for Kohli's potential record-breaking performance against KKR, a milestone that could redefine cricketing history.

Foremost Six-Hitters in IPL Franchise History:

  1. Chris Gayle – RCB – 239 sixes
  2. AB de Villiers – RCB – 238 sixes
  3. Virat Kohli – RCB – 237 sixes
  4. Kieron Pollard – Mumbai – 223 sixes
  5. Rohit Sharma – Mumbai – 210 sixes
  6. MS Dhoni – CSK – 210 sixes

Leave a Reply